2023 Azerbaijan Grand Prix Debrief

Sergio Perez wins the Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Formula One held its fourth round of the 2023 Formula One World Championship. The event officially known as the Formula One Azerbaijan Grand Prix 2023 was held on the 30th of April 2023 at the Baku City Circuit in Baku, Azerbaijan.


Occupying the pole position was Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, with Mercedes' George Russell achieving the fastest lap of the race. The podium finishes of the event comprised Sergio Perez, who ultimately won the Grand Prix, further drawing closer to the leading Max Verstappen. Alongside Perez and Verstappen on the podium was Charles Leclerc.


Podium finishes at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix

1Sergio Perez (Red Bull Racing)
2Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing)
3Charles Leclerc (Scuderia Ferrari)

The race comprised 51 laps in total, with the lap leaders comprising Charles Leclerc, Max Verstappen, and Sergio Perez, who was dominating the circuit throughout the race event. 

A look at the lap leaders:

The event was the first in the season to feature a new format specifically adapted for those Grands Prix that include the additional sprint race. On Friday, the 28th, a practice session was held, followed by a qualifying session that would ultimately determine the grid positions. A sprint shootout was done on Saturday, which was divided into three segments: SQ1, which lasted 12 minutes; SQ2, which lasted 10 minutes; and SQ3, which lasted 8 minutes. New tyres were made a must for each phase, with mediums used for SQ1 as well as SQ2, and soft tyres used for SQ3. 

The Driver's Standings are as follows:

1Max Verstappen93
2Sergio Perez87
3Fernando Alonso60
4Lewis Hamilton48
5Carlos Sainz Jr34
6Charles Leclerc28
7George Russell28
8Lance Stroll27
9Lando Norris10
10Nico Hulkenberg6
11Oscar Piastri4
12Valtteri Bottas4
13Esteban Ocon4
14Pierre Gasly4
15Zhou Guanyu2
16Yuki Tsunoda2
17Alex Albon1
18Kevin Magnussen1
19Logan Sargeant0
20Nyck de Vries0

An Overview of the Constructors' Championship:

1Oracle Red Bull Racing180
2Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Team87
3Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team76
4Scuderia Ferrari62
5McLaren F1 Team14
6BWT Alpine F1 Team8
7Haas F1 Team7
8Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake6
9Scuderia AlphaTauri2
10Williams Racing1