2023 F1 Canadian Grand Prix Debrief

…Max Verstappen equals legendary Ayrton Senna`s record with a Canadian GP win.


On the 18th of June, Formula One motor race took to the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, Quebec, Canada to mark its eighth race of twenty-two in an event which was dubbed, “Formula 1 Pirelli Grand Prix du Canada 2023”. The success of the event was almost threatened by the fires which were observed to be in the region; however, as a result of the June 9 statement released by the Formula One Management, the Grand Prix continued as planned. 

Max_Verstappen_Canadian_GP.jpgMax Verstappen, winning the GP.

Before the race took place, Red Bull's dominant Max Verstappen was taking the lead in the world driver’s championship with a total of 170 points, trailed by his Red Bull counterpart, Sergio Perez who was 53 points behind Verstappen and the runner-up who’s also the underdog of the season, Fernando Alonso who was 18 points behind Sergio Perez. Considering the Constructor’s Championship, Red Bull took the lead with a margin of 135 points against Mercedes, whereas Aston Martin sat comfortably in third place. The table below shows the grid positions for the Grand Prix.

The reigning and defending world champion, Max Verstappen was the pole sitter for the event, whereas it was his counterpart, Sergio Perez who attained the fastest lap of the race weekend just on the last lap of the race which constituted a total of 70 races. Verstappen dominantly led all 70 laps and went on to win the Grand Prix to equal the legendary Brazilian racer, Ayrton Senna`s record. For the race, there were no additional drivers for all the teams.

Sitting on the podium at the end of the race was none other than the defending champion, who’s also currently the favorite to be crowned champion yet again for a third time in a row, Max Verstappen, Fernando Alonso was the runner-up whereas the seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton was in third place. The win for Max Verstappen also solidified Red Bull’s place as the top contenders for the crown this season, yet the win was also Max’s 41st win in Formula One, the fifth most in the sport’s history. 


Canadian Grand Prix Results:

1Max Verstappen [Red Bull Racing]25
2Fernando Alonso [Aston Martin]18
3Lewis Hamilton [Mercedes]15
4Charles Leclerc [Ferrari]12
5Carlos Sainz Jr [Ferrari]10
6Sergio Perez [Red Bull Racing]9
7Alex Albon [Williams]6
8Esteban Ocon [Alpine]4
9Lance Stroll [Aston Martin]2
10Valtteri Bottas [Alfa Romeo]1
11Oscar Piastri [McLaren]0
12Pierre Gasly [Alpine]0
13Lando Norris [McLaren]0
14Yuki Tsunoda [Alpha Tauri]0
15Nico Hulkenberg [Haas]0
16Zhou Guanyu [Alfa Romeo]0
17Kevin Magnussen [Haas]0
18Nyck de Vries [Alpha Tauri]0
19George Russell [Mercedes]0
20Logan Sargeant [Williams]0

Although Lewis Hamilton secured a place on the podium, his teammate George Russell was less fortunate, having to withdraw from the race due to car damage caused by hitting the wall at corner six early on in the grand prix. Russell continued amidst the collision he suffered. Remarkable displays by drivers who clinched points for themselves featured Sergio Perez, Alex Albon, Carlos Sainz, Lance Stroll, Esteban Ocon, and Charles Leclerc.

De Vries and Kevin Magnussen collided at corner three. The AlphaTauri driver locked up and took the Haas with him, and Russell managed to get past them both. The race also featured a heated battle for second place between long-standing rivals, Lewis Hamilton, as well as Fernando Alonso.

An overview of Driver Standings after the Canadian Grand Prix:

1Max Verstappen195
2Sergio Perez126
3Fernando Alonso117
4Lewis Hamilton102
5Carlos Sainz Jr68
6George Russell65
7Charles Leclerc54
8Lance Stroll37
9Esteban Ocon29
10Pierre Gasly15
11Lando Norris12
12Alex Albon7
13Nico Hulkenberg6
14Oscar Piastri5
15Valtteri Bottas5
16Zhou Guanyu4
17Yuki Tsunoda2
18Kevin Magnussen2
19Nyck de Vries0
20Logan Sargeant0

An Overview of the Constructors' Championship:

1Oracle Red Bull Racing321
2Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team167
3Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Team154
4Scuderia Ferrari122
5BWT Alpine F1 Team44
6McLaren F1 Team17
7Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake9
8Haas F1 Team8
9Williams Racing7
10Scuderia AlphaTauri2