F1`s Elite Five Factions of all time

These factions have become part of F1's history, remembered for their incredible success.

The Formula One (F1) racing is defined by the Federation Internationale de I`Automobile (FIA) motorsport’s world governing body. The term “Formula” corresponds to the set of rules established by the governing body to which all the participants and their racing cars are required to adhere to. Each year, the F1 world championship season is held, consisting of a series of races, known as Grands Prix. Constructors are awarded points based on the finishing position of each of their two drivers at each grand prix, and the constructor who accumulates the most points over each championship is crowned that year’s World constructor’s champion. 

Constructors are people or cooperate entities who design key parts of F1 cars that have competed or are intended to compete in the championship. The success of the F1 teams has been described in terms of the number of constructors` titles they won, not forgetting the number of driver’s titles or world championships that the team has won as well.  The article outlines the five best F1 teams of all time on the basis of their constructors` crowns as well as those of the drivers.

Below shows the overview of the Elite Five Factions Championships:

1. Ferrari


Ferrari is by far the most decorated F1 team historically, having won a whooping sixteen constructors` titles (1961,1964,1975,1976,1977,1979,1982,1983,1999,200-04, 2007-08) and also fifteen drivers` crowns (1952,1953,1956,1958,1961,1964,1975,1977,1979,2000-04, 2007).  It won its first constructors' title in 1961 with Phil Hill, Richie Ginther and Wolfgang von Trips leading its line-up.

Ferrari won its first constructors` title in 1961 with Hill and would go on to win its second title again in 1964, with John Surtees as the sole driver. In the 70s, four more constructors' wins were attained by the team, most notably with Niki Lauda leading the team alongside Clay Regazzoni and, later, Carlos Reutemann. Jody Scheckter and Gilles Villeneuve took Ferrari to the title in 1979, with the Ferrari line up finishing in the first place and runner-up position in that year.

After a 16-year period without a constructors` victory, the wake of 2000 would mark an ear of dominance for the team. The team claimed six titles in a row, in what would include five back to back drivers` title wins by the legendary Michael Schumacher.

2. Williams


Williams claimed their constructors` titles nine times (1980,1981,1986,1987,1992,1993,1994,1996,1997) and they bagged world champions glory seven times (1980,1982,1987,1992,1993,1996,1997) after having debuted in the race series in 1978. Alan Jones and Carlos Reutemann were the two fielded drivers for the year. The team managed to secure another constructor’s title in 1981.  The team managed to have their second drivers` title win in 1982, with Ford being the engine supplier. Williams also scooped two sequential constructor’s wins in the years 1986 and 1987, with Honda as the engine supplier.

During the 1990s, the Williams authoritatively bagged constructors' titles in the space of six seasons with Renault as the engine supplier. A total of four different drivers won the drivers' title with Williams during that time.

3. McLaren


McLaren was founded by New Zealander Bruce McLaren in 1963, with the team making its first F1 appearance at the Monaco Grand Prix in 1966. The team went on to become an eight time constructors` champions (1974,1984,1985,1988,1989,1990,1991,1998) and also a twelve time world champions (1974,1976,1984,1985,1986,1988,1989,1990,1991,1998,1999 and 2008).  The team's founding driver secured its first championship victory at the Belgian Grand Prix in 1968, although its first titles didn't arrive until 1974. 

In 1984, McLaren tracked its drivers, Alain Prost and Niki Lauda who would go on to give a historical performance of the drivers`championship up to date, with the Austrian Niki Lauda, prevailing by just half a point despite winning fewer races and suffering more retirements. The following year, Prost became undisputed and secured his driver’s title, as McLaren claimed its second world title. McLaren went on to historically win four successive constructors` crowns between 1988 and 1991. After a three decades long dry spell for McLaren, the team has only attained one constructors' title in despite of its three drivers' titles, constituting two for Mika Häkkinen in 1997 and 1998, and one for Lewis Hamilton in 2008.

4. Mercedes


Mercedes claimed their eight constructors wins in the years 2014 to 2021 whereas their nine driver’s titles were achieved in the years 1954, 1955, 2014 up to 2020.  Mercedes debuted in the year 1954, and 1955, only to go to a hiatus and return to the sport in 2010.  For their first two years on the sport (1954 and 1955), Juan Manuel Fangio won the driver’s titles,   although he first competed for Maserati for two races prior to his Mercedes switch midway through the 1954 season. 

2010 marked the return of Mercedes to grand prix racing, having agreed to. This led to Michael Schumacher come out of his four-year retirement, fielding an all-German driver line-up with Nico Rosberg signed from Williams. In 2013, Schumacher was then replaced by Lewis Hamilton and the team's bizarre run started a year later after new regulations on the V6 turbo hybrid were introduced. 

At the beginning of the year 2021, Mercedes had broken Ferrari’s record of six constructors` and five drivers` championships which Ferrari had won between 1999 and 2004 with its record consisting of seven consecutive constructors' and drivers' titles. During that period of time, Lewis has become the titleholder for six times, losing out only once to his teammate, Nico. Valtteri Bottas replaced Rosberg after he quit, and he contributed to Mercedes' four constructors' victories since. They went on to take the 2021 constructors' title, but failed to grab the ultimate prize of the race.

5. Lotus


Having bagged the constructors` titles seven times (1963,1965,1968,1970,1972,1973 and 1978), and a six time driver titles holder (1963,1965,1968,1970,1972 and 1978), Lotus's first entry into F1 came at the Monaco Grand Prix in 1958 only to win their first constructor’s title in 1963. In that year, Lotus won seven races out of the ten championship races with Jim Clark, which would eventually lead Clark to claim his first world championship title. 

1965 proved to be a triumphant year yet again for Lotus as he bagged his second world title as he attained three victories and three further podium finishes. Victory for Lotus continued into 1970, although its victory was dampened by the sudden death of Jochen Rindt who died at the Italian Grand Prix having won five races for the team that season.

Further constructors win in 1972 and 1973 gave Lotus four wins in six years, with Lotus having its most famous championship victory in 1978, which was largely attributed to the modified car (Lotus 79).

A look at the performance of the Elite Five Factions in Formula One: